ERA-EDTA BUD2019 banner 900x344 0418-1.jpg
ERA-EDTA BUD2019 banner 900x344 0418-2.jpg
ERA-EDTA BUD2019 banner 900x344 0418-3.jpg

    You are here

Passport and Visa Information


Hungary joined the Schengen Area in 2007. Nationals of EU member states, the European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland do not require a visa for entering Hungary. EU nationals may travel with a passport or a national ID card. A passport valid for 3 months beyond the length of stay and issued within the last 10 years is required by all nationals of Australia, Canada, the UK and the USA. Nationals of Australia, Canada, the UK and the USA may stay for up to 90 days without a visa. A return ticket might be required for nationals of Australia, Canada and the USA. Visas and residence permits issued by one of the Schengen Member States are also valid for Hungary. The maximum stay in Hungary is 90 days.

(Visa Waiver Agreements)
Holders of passports issued by the countries or territories below do not need a visa to travel to Hungary; for the most up-to-date list of visa-free countries please consult http://konzuliszolgalat.kormany.hu/visa-waiveragreements.

Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Albania*, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia- Herzegovina*, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, F.Y.R. of Macedonia*, Finland, France, Georgia*, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Hong Kong****, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao****, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova*, Monaco, Montenegro*, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Marianas, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, San Marino, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Serbia**, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan***, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine*, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Venezuela.

IMPORTANT! If you need a visa, apply at least 2 months before the departure!
All other nationals require a visa in order to enter the Schengen Area or Hungary:
Afghanistan, Albania*, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina*, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burma (Myanmar), Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China****, Comoros, Congo, Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, F.Y.R. of Macedonia*, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia*, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova*, Mongolia, Montenegro*, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Palestinian Authority, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tomé and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia**, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan***, Tadjikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine*, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

* Only citizens with biometric passports are exempt from the visa requirement. (** This does not apply to persons with passports issued by the Serbian Coordination directorate Koordinaciona uprava).
***Only citizens with a passport issued by Taiwan which contains an identity card number are exempt from the visa requirement. The same applies to citizens with old Taiwanese passports with “Republic of China” on the front page, if the stated place of birth is Taiwan and the passport contains an identity card number.
****Citizens with a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” passport, a “Região Administrativa Especial de Macau” passport or a “British National Overseas” passport are exempt from the visa requirement.

Detailed information on entering Hungary can be found on http://konzuliszolgalat.kormany.hu/en

For Missions/Embassies Abroad please check www.kormany.hu/en/ministry-of-foreign-affairs-andtrade/ missions

It is highly recommended to contact the Embassy of Hungary accredited to your country before the intended departure.

Should this not be sufficient, the Visa secretariat will be pleased to send, upon request, a personal invitation. This letter should NOT be considered as an offer of any kind of financial support on behalf of the organisers. An official invitation letter can be requested by e-mail to the Visa Secretariat (visa@era-edta.org) at least 3 months in advance. This letter does NOT however involve any commitment on behalf of the Congress Organisers to cover fees, accommodation, travel expenses or any other costs connected to participation in the Congress. ERA-EDTA will not be held responsible for visas that are not granted.
International congress members who require a letter of invitation will first need to complete the online registration for the 56th ERA-EDTA Congress. Letters of invitation for spouse/guest registrants will only be provided if the accompanying individual has completed his/her congress registration.

The Schengen visa is a short stay visa (tourism, private visits, short business, conference) valid for all Schengen countries for up to 90 days. All applicants must apply for a visa in person at the Hungarian Embassy or Consulate in his/her country of residence.
Applications cannot be submitted more than 3 months prior to departure. However, please present your application at least 2 months before the intended time of travel.
The consular fees have to be paid when submitting the application; these fees are not reimbursed in case of visa refusal. The visa application form must be completely filled in and supported by the required documents to prevent inadmissibility of the application or a delay in the application process. According to each individual case, the competent embassy or consulate may ask for further documentation. Please verify with the respective diplomatic representation in your country.

Based on info from the Department of Consular Affairs and Citizenship of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade of Hungary, September 2018.